About BC Yukon Book Mail

Readers of all ages who love books by Joy Kogawa and Julie Flett are invited to write to Joy and Julie to tell them what you enjoy most about their stories.

BC Yukon Book Mail by the BC and Yukon Book Prizes and Historic Joy Kogawa House creates an opportunity for readers to write letters to Joy Kogawa and Julie Flett, co-winners of the 2020 Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence. Joy Kogawa and Julie Flett will respond to the first 100 letters they receive from readers.

Joy Kogawa by Samuel Engelking

Choose a beautiful postage stamp and mail letters for Julie and Joy to:

BC Yukon Bookmail
3687 Hennepin Avenue
Vancouver BC
V5S 3X3

Click here for more information and printable PDFs of stationery templates for different age groups.

The deadline to send your letter is June 30, 2021.

About Joy Kogawa and Julie Flett

About Joy Kogawa

Acclaimed writer Joy Kogawa is best known as the author of Obasan (1981), a Canadian novel that has become essential reading for a nation. Her other novels for adults include Itsuka (1992, rewritten as Emily Kato in 2005 and then republished as Itsuka in 2018) and The Rain Ascends (1995). Her works for children include Naomi’s Road (2005) and Naomi’s Tree (2009).

Among her many honours, Joy was made a Member of the Order of Canada (1986), a Member of the Order of British Columbia (2006) and, from the Government of Japan, a Member of the Order of the Rising Sun (2010) for ‘her contribution to the understanding and preservation of Japanese Canadian history.’

About Julie Flett

 Julie Flett is a Cree-Métis author and illustrator, known for her work in children’s literature centred around the life and cultures of Indigenous Canadians, particularly Cree and Métis children, and their family relationships. Flett is best known for her illustrations in books such as Little You and When We Were Alone, as well as for her written work in books such as Birdsong. She is also known for her advocacy work with Indigenous youth and other community members in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside.

Julie is also involved in efforts to preserve and share Indigenous languages among English-speaking populations.

Listen About This on Writing the Coast

Ann-Marie Metten talks about the legacy of Historic Joy Kogawa House

by Writing the Coast: BC & Yukon Book Prizes podcast | Season 2 Episode 37

About Writing the Coast:

Writing the Coast is a recorded series of conversations, readings, and insights into the work of the writers, illustrators, and creators whose books are nominated for the annual BC and Yukon Book Prizes. The podcast is produced and hosted by Megan Cole.

In this episode, Megan talks with Ann-Marie Metten, executive director of Historic Joy Kogawa House. Megan and Ann-Marie talk about the history and legacy of Historic Joy Kogawa House as well as Joy sharing the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence.

As part of this project, the BC and Yukon Book Prizes and Historic Joy Kogawa House encourages readers, families, classrooms, and libraries to find ways to highlight the books by these celebrated and beloved authors. 

The Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence was established in 2003 by the Honourable Iona Campagnolo to recognize British Columbia writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the Province. This award took a brief hiatus during 2018–2019 but was reinstated for 2020 by the Honourable Janet Austin.

If you have questions about BC Yukon Book Mail or about sending your letters to Julie Flett and Joy Kogawa, email Megan Cole, Director of Programming and Communications, at megan@bcyukonbookprizes.com or write to us at info@kogawahouse.com.

Discover More About Historic Joy Kogawa House

Read about our Current Writer-in-Residence or take a look at our Past Writers.

Join our community by becoming a member or donating.

Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.